BB creams: do we need them?

I have never understood what BB creams are. Are they foundations? Are they coloured creams?

By definition, BB stands for “Blemish Base” and it’s supposed to act both as a moisturiser and a foundation, it promises to cover spots and imperfections as well as making a good make up base.

I was sceptical about this miracle-like product, but I decided to give it a try anyway. I chose Rimmel BB Cream 9-in-1 skin perfecting super makeup: it comes in two shades, Medium and Light. I bought the light version due to my fair complexion.

Image (Picture: x )

At first:

After applying moisturiser (Brightening Cream by Sensai Kanebo), I applied the BB cream with my flat foundation brush: the shade is a bit too dark for my pale complexion but blends in easily and covers my imperfections. The texture is smooth, thick and a bit too oily. I also applied T. Leclerc’s Translucent powder on top, to help the cream settle.

After some hours: 

The cream started to settle and the oily texture had gone, giving my skin a matte finish, but the colour still looked fairly darker than my complexion. My pores were visibly minimised and my skin didn’t feel dry at all.However, this review proves it wrong. Applying a good moisturiser first may be a solution if you feel your skin gets extremely dry.

Overall:

This cream promises good finish, perfect coverage and smooth complexion. I found it’s true: my skin looked flawless! However, I haven’t got any major problems to minimise or cover, so I’m not sure how helpful it would be to hide bigger issues. I also want to point out this cream is not listed as one of the top 10 best high street BB creams so clearly there are better ones around, suitable for different types of skin.

It’s a good make up base, I wore the cream in the morning and I took it off late at night and my make up still looked perfect. I particularly liked the SPF 25, as it protected my skin from the cold.

I didn’t like the oily, thick texture as I’m a fan of lighter ones, and I also wasn’t amazed by having to wait an hour for the cream to settle. I’m also not sure what effect it would have on my skin if I wore it everyday (I’m too scared to try that!), however it’s good to wear on special days when you need your make up to stay in place for a long time.

So in the end, my BB cream experience wasn’t bad at all, although I prefer having to wear moisturiser, primer and foundation separately, rather than one cream that does it all!

If you want to find out more about BB creams, I suggest checking out Vogue‘s top 10 best ones in the make up industry, which are pretty much the same as Marie Claire‘s.

2 thoughts on “BB creams: do we need them?

  1. I bought both the Garnier and Maybelline BB creams to test out. I saw the Rimmel one as well but they only had the darker shades and no more lighter so I wasn’t able to buy it.. otherwise I might have tried it out!

Leave a Reply

