Diorskin Star Foundation – Review

Nearly one month ago I mentioned getting a sample of Dior’s new foundation, Diorskin Star.

I have finally managed to try it so here’s what I think of it.

At first:

The sample comes in a nice little pot – which will honestly last me for two months. The foundation comes in 16 different shades, to suit most skin types.

IMG_1138

The shade I have is 013 DUNE. It looks quite pale compared to my arm but my face is paler than the rest of my body, so it does match my skin.

IMG_1141

I applied the foundation with Model’s Own Foundation Brush (£7.99) and set it with T. Leclerc’s Translucide loose powder (£36).

I found Diorskin Star quite hard to apply, the texture looks light but compared to Diorskin Nude (my daily foundation), I need to use more product to cover my whole face.

The coverage is good, not too heavy which is what I was looking for as I want a natural overall look. But then again, my skin does not have any major problems to cover up so I don’t know how good it will be in covering blemishes or spots. Other reviews suggest it covers some things but not everything so I wouldn’t recommend to those who would like a heavier coverage.

The other amazing thing about Diorskin Star is that it smells SO good!!

After some hours: 

The foundation settled quite nicely and it doesn’t look too heavy. However, as I sometimes find with my daily foundation Diorskin Nude, it dries my skin too much. It may be just because I have dry skin, but if you have the same skin type as me, you may feel the same.

Overall:

Diorskin Star is described as “the first brightening foundation”, which is quite true as my skin looks brighter. It also promises that the ingredients will “help reduce the appearance of dark areas, pigment spots and redness“. As my main skin problem is redness, it’s true, I’m not red, although my skin feels tight.

So does Diorskin Star win against Diorskin Nude? In my opinion, Diorskin Nude is better in applying and coverage as well as leaving a natural finish. They both dry my skin but I feel Star dries it a bit more than Nude.

In the end, I think I’ll stick to Diorskin Nude and recommend Star to those who don’t suffer from dry skin, I’m sure they will love it as much as other reviewers have!!

Leave a Reply

